Class 1, 2 and 3 Misdemeanors in Arizona

In Arizona, misdemeanors can have serious legal implications, especially when it comes to public officials, government employees, and professionals who hold positions of trust. If you are facing allegations of misdemeanor, it is important to understand your legal rights and options.

Class 1 Misdemeanor Penalties in Arizona

In Arizona, a class 1 misdemeanor is considered the most serious misdemeanor offense, with penalties that can have a significant impact on your life. The maximum penalty for a class 1 misdemeanor is six months in jail (A.R.S. § 13-707) and a fine of up to $2,500 (A.R.S § 13-802).

There are many violations that are class 1 misdemeanors.  Some of the most common class 1 misdemeanors are driving under the influence (DUI), criminal damage, disorderly conduct, and domestic violence assault.  

Class 2 Misdemeanor Penalties

Class 2 misdemeanors are punishable by up to four months in jail (A.R.S. § 13-707) and fines of up to $750 (A.R.S § 13-802). Some examples of Class 2 misdemeanors in Arizona include minor in consumption of alcohol, criminal trespassing in the second degree, and reckless driving.

Class 3 Misdemeanor Penalties

The maximum penalty for a Class 3 misdemeanor is a fine of up to $500 (A.R.S § 13-802) and up to 30 days in jail (A.R.S. § 13-707). Common class 3 misdemeanors are excessive speeding, criminal trespassing in the third degree, and assaultive touching.

Misdemeanor Plea Bargains in Arizona

During your case, you may have the option of agreeing to a plea bargain that will lessen, reduce or drop some of your charges. Should you agree to a plea bargain, it can substantially improve your outlook, though you should weigh all your options when deciding how to proceed in your case. With the help of a qualified criminal defense attorney like those of our team, you can fully explore your legal options and choose the best route for your future.

How Long Does A Misdemeanor Stay On Your Record In Arizona?

In Arizona, a misdemeanor offense will stay on your criminal record indefinitely unless it is sealed or expunged. Recent changes to Arizona law have made it easier for individuals to seal their criminal records.

As of January 2023 (A.R.S. § 13.911), individuals can petition to have certain misdemeanors and felonies sealed from their criminal record. This means that the offense may not appear on background checks, allowing individuals to have greater opportunities for employment and housing. Following the enactment of A.R.S § 13.911, individuals can petition to seal their records after completing their sentence and waiting the statutory allotted period of time. Certain offenses, such as serious felonies and sex crimes, are not eligible for record sealing.

It is important to note that record sealing is not automatic and requires a petition to be filed with the court. Additionally, some employers and government agencies may still have access to sealed records in certain circumstances.

Protect Your Liberty at JacksonWhite

At JacksonWhite Law, we offer our clients superior legal help that takes into consideration all possible angles. If you’ve been charged with any class of misdemeanor in Arizona, contact us today to make the most of your case. Our criminal attorneys have helped thousands of people in Arizona with criminal cases get positive outcomes like reduced or dismissed charges.

Call the JacksonWhite Criminal Law team at (480) 418-4281 to discuss your case today.

Free Criminal Case Review

Call (480) 467-4370  or fill out the form below to get your free consultation and discuss your best legal options.