While there are many differences between the scope of work of a medical doctor and a massage therapist, they have at least one thing in common in Arizona. According to state law, both must be licensed to practice.
According to A.R.S. 32-4221, any person who engages in the practice of massage therapy in the state of Arizona must be licensed to do so. While obtaining a license to practice massage therapy may seem trivial, state prosecutors actively seek out and charge those who choose not to obtain a license.
If you have been charged with practicing massage therapy without a license, contact the criminal law team at JacksonWhite Law today to schedule a free consultation.
Laws Requiring Licenses for Massage Therapy in Arizona
In Arizona, massage therapists must abide by the following statutes:
A.R.S. 32-4221 states the following, “beginning July 1, 2005, a person who wishes to engage in the practice of massage therapy must be licensed pursuant to this chapter and may submit an application for licensure pursuant to this chapter not sooner than the date prescribed by the board”.
It should be noted that in 2019 H.B. 2569 was signed into law, and it requires state licensing agencies to recognize similar licenses that were issued in another state. For example, if you lived in California and had obtained a license to practice massage therapy there, Arizona’s massage therapy licensure board must recognize your license.
If you have a valid license to practice massage therapy in another state and have been charged with practicing without a valid license in the state of Arizona, contact JacksonWhite Law today to schedule a consultation with one of our attorneys.
According to A.R.S. 32-4255, “it is unlawful for any person to practice or in any manner to claim to practice massage therapy or to advertise massage therapy services unless that person is licensed pursuant to this chapter.” Anyone who claims to be or practices massage therapy without a proper license breaks this law and may face the associated penalties.
It should also be noted that this law also applies to those who had a massage therapy license from the State of Arizona and failed to renew it. Arizona law does not differentiate between a lapse in a license and having no license at all.
According to this statute, anyone who practices massage therapy without a license is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor.
Misdemeanors for Massaging Without a License in Arizona
Arizona law classifies criminal offenses in two categories: misdemeanor or felony. Generally, misdemeanors are less severe than felonies. However, the penalties associated with each class of misdemeanors can be severe and may include jail time.
Class 3 misdemeanors are the least severe, and the maximum penalties include up to 30 days of jail time and fines up to $500.
Those with a previous misdemeanor or petty offense convictions may be sentenced to the next higher misdemeanor level. If you are charged with a class 3 misdemeanor and have prior convictions, you may face the penalties associated with a class 2 misdemeanor.
The maximum punishment for a class 2 misdemeanor is up to 4 months in jail and a fine of up to $750.
As with the above, those who have previously been charged with a misdemeanor or petty offense convictions may be sentenced to the next higher misdemeanor level. Those with past convictions may, in fact, see their charges upgraded to that of a class 1 misdemeanor.
Class 1 misdemeanors are the most severe type. Those convicted face up to 6 months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor in Arizona, a conviction will seriously affect your life. However, having the proper legal defense can reduce your charge, which can significantly improve your future outlook regarding employment, education, and housing.
What to do if You Have Been Charged for Massaging Without a License in Arizona
If you have been charged with practicing as a massage therapist without having a license, the resourceful criminal law team at JacksonWhite Law is here to help. At JacksonWhite Law, our team has years of experience assisting their clients in receiving a reduction or even dismissals of charges.
Call the JacksonWhite Criminal Law team at (480) 467-4370 to discuss your case today.