Reckless driving, like criminal speeding, is a common offense in Arizona. Because it does happen often, some drivers believe it won’t have much of an impact, but this isn’t the case. A reckless driving conviction can be a misdemeanor that can lead to jail time, significant fines and a suspended license.
If you’re facing a reckless driving charge in Arizona, it’s important to know that it’s something that won’t go away on its own. But with the right team – the defense attorneys at JacksonWhite Law – you can give yourself the best chance of minimizing your penalties.
In the past, we’ve had clients who have had charges dropped and penalties reduced, and we can help you, too.
When you’re ready for your free case review, call us at (480) 467-4370. You’ll speak with either Jeremy Geigle or John Dosdall, who will clearly explain your legal options moving forward – with no obligation to continue working with JacksonWhite.
Do You Need an Attorney for Reckless Driving in Arizona?
Although it’s not required, having a reckless driving attorney can significantly improve your chances of having your penalties reduced.
Reckless driving in Arizona is governed by statute 28-693, which states that reckless driving is any kind of driving that shows “disregard for the safety of persons or property.”
The statute makes it clear that reckless driving can be a class 1 or class 2 misdemeanor offense, and carries penalties respective of those classes.
So although you don’t technically need a reckless driving attorney, facing the typical sentencing for the charge without the right representation could lead to more penalties than you’d face with an attorney.
Penalties for Reckless Driving in Arizona
Class 1 or Class 2 Misdemeanor §28-693(A), (B) & (D)
- 1st Offense: Class 2 Misdemeanor-Not more than 4 months.
- 2nd or subsequent offense (within 24 months): Class 1 Misdemeanor-Not more than 6 months. §13-707(A)(1) & (2)
- 1st offense: Class 2 Misdemeanor-Not more than $750.00.
- 2nd or subsequent offense (within 24 months): Class 1 Misdemeanor-Not more than $2,500.00. §13-802(A) & (B)
- 1st offense: Suspended for not more than 90 days.
- 2nd or subsequent offense (within 24 months or within 60 months under §28-3304(A)(7)): Revoked for no more than 1 year. §§28-693(D) & (D) and 28-3304(A)(7)
- The licensing agency may require an offender to attend a defensive driving (traffic) school. §28-3306 & AAC R17-4-506
- An offender is also subject to assessments which can be 60% of the fine imposed. §§12-116.01 & 12-116.02
- An offender may be required to pay the costs of their incarceration. §28-694(A)
Need Your Reckless Driving Penalties Reduced?
We’ve helped clients facing traffic charges throughout the Phoenix metro area, and we can help you next. If you’d like to make sure your reckless driving charge makes as little impact as possible on your life, we invite you to call for your free case review today.
The Mesa defense attorneys at JacksonWhite Law are dedicated to providing you with the highest level of professional, personalized service based on the needs of your case. When you’re ready, we can help move forward after your reckless driving charge.
Call (480) 467-4370 for your free case review today.
Call the JacksonWhite Criminal Law team at (480) 467-4370 to discuss your case today.
Get Your Free Case Review
Fill out the form below to get your free consultation and discuss your best legal options.