Hit-and-runs in Arizona are considered a criminal offense. They are listed in Arizona’s criminal code: A.R.S. Title 13.
What should I legally do following an accident in Arizona?
Under A.R.S. 28-663, the driver of a vehicle that is involved in an accident that has resulted in the injury or death of another driver must stay at the scene of a crime. In addition, that driver must give their name, address, and registration number of the vehicle and render assistance to the other driver that is injured by making medical arrangements (e.g., calling for an ambulance).
Anyone that does not comply with any of these requirements will be guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor which can result in a fine up to $500 and/or prison time of up to 30 days.
Hit-and-Run Laws in Arizona
A hit-and-run is the failure to stop when causing or being involved in a car accident. Under Arizona law, a hit-and-run is considered a felony.
A.R.S. 28-661 states that if a driver is involved in a car accident that resulted in the serious injury of another driver and he or she does not stay at the accident, that driver will be convicted of a class 3 felony. A class 3 felony can carry a prison sentence of five to 20 years.
According to A.R.S. 13-105, serious injury is any injury that has caused serious or permanent disfiguration or impairment of an individual’s health.
However, if the driver fails to stop and he or she caused the accident, that individual will be convicted of a class 2 felony. Class 2 felonies can result in twenty years to life in prison.
In addition, there will be revocation of the driver’s license for five years if the driver is involved in the accident and leaves the scene, with a ten year revocation if the driver caused the accident.
Arizona law also states that if a driver was involved in the accident and it resulted in an injury that was not serious nor caused a death but he or she still left the scene, that driver will be convicted of a class 5 felony. Class 5 felonies can range from one to ten years in prison.
Arizona Hit-and-Run Defense Attorney
If you are charged with a hit-and-run in Arizona, it is crucial to have legal representation. JacksonWhite criminal defense lawyer, Jeremy Geigle, represents clients involved with this crime and offers a free consultation to review your case. Call (480) 818 9943 to schedule an appointment.