Yes. It is certainly true that in the state of Arizona, your ability to drive could be taken away due to a DUI arrest and conviction. Even without a conviction, just an arrest alone can prompt the MVD to suspend your Arizona license. You don’t even need a DUI conviction for the MVD to serve you with a license suspension notice. Here’s how you might get a suspended license from a DUI arrest:
1.At the time of your DUI arrest, the police officer gave you a suspension notice.
2.That suspension notice means that your driving privileges will be automatically suspended for a 90 day time period, beginning 15 days from the date of your arrest.
3.For those with an Arizona license: During that 90 day time period, you will usually not be able to drive for the first 30 days. Then for the next 60 days, you may be allowed to drive to and from work and/or school; however, this is only possible if you have met the MVD’s restricted permit eligibility requirements.
4.For those without an Arizona license: During the entire 90 day time period, you might not be able to drive. On a side note, I encourage anyone who falls into this category to contact an Arizona criminal defense attorney. It can make your life a whole lot easier!
Do you need to speak with an attorney about issues related to a DUI arrest? I offer a free DUI consultation in which I would be happy to assess your case in relation to AZ DUI law. You can reach me 24/7 on my direct line at 480.818.9943.
As acriminal defense attorney in Phoenix, Jeremy Geigle makes it his first priority to listen to his clients concerns from the moment they walk into his office – especially those clients facing DUI charges or other legal issues related to DUI. To read what Jeremy’s clients have to say about his DUI defense strategies, feel free to check out Jeremy Geigle’s client testimonials page.