Under Arizona law, an Extreme DUI carries more serious consequences than a standard DUI. Since this is a no-tolerance state when it comes to driving drunk, law enforcement in Mesa is extremely strict about this issue. For your first Extreme DUI offense, you could receive a class 1 misdemeanor charge, have to pay high fines, and get your license suspended.
Note that anyone may be arrested for driving under the influence, even with a blood alcohol content of less than the legal limit (0.08 percent). If you’ve been charged with this crime, it’s important to secure adequate legal defense to protect yourself. For answers to your questions or help with your case, contact one of our extreme DUI lawyers today.
Extreme DUI Laws in Mesa
Arizona law states that you may not drive or physically control a vehicle while intoxicated (under the influence of alcohol or drugs). You may get a DUI charge if you’re driving with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of at least 0.08 percent. This means that if you’re driving with a BAC of 0.08 percent or more, you’re breaking state law.
Driving with a BAC of at least .015 percent (within two hours of operating a vehicle) puts you at risk for an Extreme DUI charge. Driving with a BAC of .20 percent or more could lead to a Super Extreme DUI charge, which is even more severe.
Extreme DUI Penalties in Mesa
If it’s your first offense, an Extreme DUI charge will be a class 1 misdemeanor. This crime comes with at least 30 days in jail, between $250 and $2,780 in fees and fines and possible community service. You may have to undergo counseling and alcohol screening, a suspension of your driver’s license, and 3 years of probation. Some Extreme DUI offenders must have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in their car for a year.
Note that offenders with a BAC of .20 percent or more must go to jail for at least 45 days. If you receive a second Extreme DUI conviction, you must serve at least 120 days in jail, pay $3,740 in fees and fines, and do community service. This offense will also require probation, mandatory counseling and alcohol screening, having your license suspended, and an Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle for a year.
If you had a minor in the car when you were arrested or have previous convictions on your record, these factors can aggravate your charge and lead to more severe penalties. Aggravating factors could lead to more time in jail, higher fines, and more.
Defenses for Extreme DUI Charges in Mesa
If you choose to work with a DUI lawyer in Mesa, they may help you get your charges reduced or dismissed using a number of defenses. Police officers aren’t allowed to detain or stop someone based on age, religion, race, or other discriminatory factors, and they must have probable cause for arrest.
Additionally, you must have been in “actual physical control” of the vehicle to receive a DUI conviction, and the blood or breath testing device must have been properly calibrated. Field Sobriety Tests shouldn’t be given to people who are at least 50 pounds overweight, older than 65, or individuals with certain injuries. If your lawyer finds that the officer didn’t follow proper protocol, it could count in your favor.
While DUI charges come with severe penalties, working with a skilled lawyer will give you a chance to save your future. Depending on the details of your case, your lawyer may help you get your charges dismissed or at least reduced. An Extreme DUI will affect the rest of your life. Your professional opportunities could be disrupted with a suspended license, not to mention the financial consequences. So, it’s best not to take any chances with this.
Get Extreme DUI Help in Mesa, Arizona
JacksonWhite Law has been serving clients in the Mesa area since 1983. We offer a full range of legal assistance and have plenty of experience navigating cases just like yours with great success. As one of the biggest firms in the East Valley, we work to provide advanced, insightful legal solutions to families, businesses, and individuals throughout the state of Arizona.
From fines, to probation and jail time, being in legal trouble is no laughing matter. It could harm your opportunities in life and even make it harder to find a place to live. Speak with one of our skilled criminal defense lawyers today to get answers to your questions and to protect your future.
Our Mesa Location
Our Mesa office is on the northwest corner of W. Pepper and N. Center Street. You may park on Pepper or in the parking garage nearby.
The Mesa city court is located on the northwest corner of Pomeroy Street and 1st Avenue. You’ll find a public parking garage behind the building, which you can access from Pomeroy or Main Street.
Call the JacksonWhite Criminal Law team at (480) 372-9090 to discuss your case today.
Get your free case review today.
Fill out the form below to discuss your case and best legal options.