Photo radars are well spread throughout Phoenix, Mesa, Tempe, Scottsdale, and Paradise Valley. A photo radar camera takes a picture of a speeding vehicle and the license number is then used to track the owner. The trigger speed of photo radars in Arizona is set to 11 miles per hour (MPH) over the posted speed limit in all locations except for school zones, which is set to 6 miles per hour (MPH) over the posted speed limit.
If a picture of your vehicle has been taken by a photo radar camera, the city will send you a ticket in the mail. It is important to know that Arizona courts have held that service by mail does not comply with Arizona law. However, by signing and returning the traffic ticket, you waive your rights. If you do not sign and return the traffic ticket, then a process server will serve the ticket to you in person. Once the ticket has been legally served to you, you will be required to appear for the traffic violation.
|In Arizona, each time you are convicted for a moving traffic violation, or forfeit bail, points are assessed against your permanent driving record. If you accumulate 8 or more points in any 12-month period, you may be required to attend Traffic Survival School (TSS), or your driving privilege may be suspended up to 12 months.All convictions for red-light/stop-sign running, aggressive driving, moving violations resulting in death or serious injury, and the first moving violation for drivers under 18 years of age require successful completion of Traffic Survival School following assignment. Failure to successfully complete Traffic Survival School when ordered will result in the suspension of the person’s driving privilege.||
Civil Traffic Violations
If you have received a civil traffic citation in Arizona, you have three options:
Attend defensive driving school
If you choose to attend defensive driving school, and you are eligible to attend, you will not have to make a court appearance if you attend before your scheduled court date. Otherwise, you must appear on your scheduled court date and request permission to attend driving school. The court clerk will be able to process your request.
You can register over the phone and make arrangements to attend class at any State certified school listed here.
Deny responsibility and request a hearing
To request a hearing for a civil traffic citation, you may do so by mail or by appearing on your scheduled court date. You should know that by requesting a hearing you may give up any option of attending a defensive driving school diversion program. Should you fail to appear for the hearing, you may voluntarily post a deposit in the amount of the civil penalty to ensure your license is not suspended.
Admit responsibility and pay the civil penalty
You may pay the amount listed on the bond envelope and mail in your payment to admit responsibility. Know that all civil penalties are due in full on or before the scheduled appearance date. If you do not pay your penalty in full on or before the scheduled court date, you must request a time payment plan and prove you are unable to pay in full. The fines manager will review your financial information and run a credit report to determine your eligibility for an installment plan. There is a $20.00 time payment fee added to all fines and penalties not paid in full on the same day they are imposed.
Criminal Traffic Violations
If you have received a criminal traffic violation, you must appear before the judge on your scheduled appearance date, which is listed on your ticket. When you appear before the judge, you have three options:
If you plead guilty, you are admitting that you committed the violation for which you were ticketed. Possible penalties for a criminal traffic violation include: points on your driving record, a fine, suspension or restriction of your driving privileges, jail, community service, and court-ordered education classes.
Plead not guilty
If you plead not guilty, you are denying you committed the charge(s) against you. The Court will give you a trial or pre-trial date. If you choose this route, you have the following rights as a defendant:
Plead not contest
If you plead not contest, you are neither admitting nor denying the charges against you and are telling the court that you do not intend to contest the charges. The penalty may be the same as a guilty plea. The judge may consider an explanation before imposing a fine or penalty.
The MVD may suspend or revoke your driving privilege if you:
Call us now for a free consultation,
or have us call you by filling out the
form to the right. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys will call to help you with your case.