Shoplifting may be more serious than you think.
In Arizona, shoplifting or theft can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. The circumstances depend on the value of the goods that were taken, as well as your previous criminal record and other factors.
When Shoplifting is a Felony in Arizona
There are five common situations when shoplifting is considered a felony offense in Arizona. A class 5 felony is charged when:
- The value of the stolen property is $2,000 or more
- The shoplifting was done during a “continual criminal episode”
- The shoplifting was done to promote gang activity
Shoplifting property valued over $1,000 but less than $2,000 may be a class 6 felony. Using a device or instrument to help shoplift property, or having two similar convictions (shoplifting, burglary, robbery, theft) within five years can be a class 4 felony.
When Shoplifting is a Misdemeanor in Arizona
If the value of the stolen property is under $1,000, the shoplifting charge is considered a misdemeanor. In general, most shoplifting cases are considered misdemeanors, and even if the value of the property is over $1,000, you may be able to plead down to a lesser charge to avoid increased penalties.
What are the Penalties for Shoplifting in Arizona?
For misdemeanors and felonies, shoplifting convictions can include community service and fines. The severity of the penalties is usually directly related to the value of the property and the circumstances of the shoplifting.
First-time offenders may be eligible for diversion programs that allow them to attend classes and in return, the conviction is not on their record. Diversion programs can include additional community service and fees, but having the case dismissed is a significant positive step for your record.
Do You Need Your Shoplifting Charge Reduced?
With the experienced shoplifting attorneys of JacksonWhite Law, you’ll find the opportunity to reduce your penalties and minimize the impact of your charge.
Call us today at (480) 818 9943 to schedule a free consultation.