The short answer to that question is yes, you can get the period of your probation adjusted in Arizona. However, there are some guidelines described by ARS 13-924, which states that “the court may adjust the period of a . . . supervised probation on the recommendation of an adult probation officer for earned time credit.” Earned time credit equates to 20 days of probation adjustment for every 30 days that the probationer does the following: Is current on all payments ordered by the court, Is current on court ordered community service, Shows positive progression towards the goals and treatments
Archive for the ‘Juvenile Criminal Defense’ Category
According to ARS 13-921, a defendant in Arizona may plead guilty and agree to probation if the following apply: The defendant is under the age of 18 at the time of the offense. The defendant is not sentenced to a term of imprisonment. The defendant is convicted of a felony. The defendant does not have a prior felony conviction. Many young kids and teenagers get caught up in crime before understanding the consequences that criminal convictions can have on their future. With the right legal representation, juveniles in Arizona can start fresh after they complete the terms of their probation.
Courts are usually pretty lenient when a juvenile is charged with a crime in Arizona. Most judges and prosecutors support the idea that rehabilitation can prevent juveniles from becoming repeat offenders. The goal in a juvenile case should be to get a minimum sentence, deferred prosecution or rehabilitation. Juvenile defendants in Arizona deserve the opportunity to learn from their mistakes and live productive, fulfilling lives. When a juvenile is not a first time offender or accused of a serious crime, the main priority should be to keep their case within the juvenile justice system. Juveniles who have their cases moved
A Chandler AZ juvenile defense attorney can provide minors charged with criminal trespassing the protection they need to get their life back on track.
Although the juvenile justice system in Arizona focuses on rehabilitation, the consequences of a criminal charge against persons under the age of 18 can be serious. If a juvenile commits a minor offense, they can be required to complete community service, go through counseling or write a letter of apology. On the other hand, if a juvenile faces serious charges, they may be sent to a juvenile correctional facility or possibly transferred to adult court where they could face much more severe punishments. In order to avoid unnecessary consequences that could leave a juvenile with a criminal record, I highly
17 is the maximum age for juvenile court in Arizona, but there are certain crimes that allow the prosecutor to charge a juvenile as an adult automatically. Juveniles between the ages of 14-17 may be subject to answer charges in adult courts for certain violent felony offenses or sexual misconduct. Even though the term “juvenile” usually applies to children under the age of 18, this does not automatically exclude a juvenile from adult court. In general, juveniles 14 and under will usually face juvenile proceedings and will not be subject to adult court jurisdiction. Have additional questions about the juvenile
If you are a parent and your child has been charged with theft or shoplifting in Phoenix, you are probably concerned about your child’s future. A shoplifting conviction can result in jail time, fines, restitution and even a criminal record for a juvenile. In addition, any type of theft conviction can have a negative impact on your child’s future when they go to apply for college or a job. If your child is under investigation for shoplifting or any other type of theft in Phoenix, an Arizona juvenile criminal defense attorney can be a great ally. With an AZ juvenile
If you are underage and facing drinking and driving charges in Tempe, or anywhere else in the greater Phoenix area for that matter, it is critical that you contact a DUI attorney in Arizona immediately. A “minor DUI” refers to the Arizona law prohibiting underage drivers from diving with any blood alcohol content, or BAC, at all. For adult drivers in Arizona, a “traditional DUI” is charged for a BAC of 0.08% or higher. Most young people charged with a DUI have not completed their higher education or established their career, and may not understand the future complications that can
Call us now for a free consultation,
or have us call you by filling out the
form to the right. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys will call to help you with your case.