Arizona DUI Penalties

Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws and the harshest DUI penalties in the nation. Depending upon your BAC at the time of your arrest, among other factors, the punishments will vary.

Below are some general Arizona DUI charges and their related penalties

First-Time DUI (impaired to slightest degree)*

  • 10 days minimum in jail, one day if alcohol assessment and treatment is successfully completed (6 months max)
  • $250-$2500 fines plus surcharge, $500 DPS, $500 prison assessment fees, plus other costs
  • Potential probation and community service
  • Installation of ignition interlock device for six months

*Remember, it’s possible to be arrested for a DUI in AZ even if your BAC registers below the legal limit of 0.08 if the officer believes you are impaired to the slightest degree.


DUI: BAC 0.08-0.14

  • 10 days minimum in jail, one day if alcohol assessment and treatment is successfully completed (6 months max)
  • $250-$2500 fines plus surcharge, $500 DPS, $500 prison assessment fees, plus other costs
  • Potential probation and community service
  • 90 day driver’s license suspension, possible 60 day restricted
  • Automatic suspension of driver’s license for refusing to take Breathalyzer or blood test for 1 year
  • Installation of ignition interlock device for six months

Extreme DUI: BAC 0.15-0.19

  • 30 days-6 months in jail
  • $250-$2500 fine plus surcharge, $250 assessment fee, $1000 DPS, $1000 prison assessment, plus other costs
  • Potential probation and community service
  • Installation of ignition interlock device for 12 months ($1000 yearly cost)
  • Alcohol screening, treatment, and education

Super Extreme DUI: BAC 0.20 or higher

  • 45 consecutive days in jail, up to 6 months
  • $500-$2500 fines plus surcharge, $250 assessment fee, $1000 DPS, $1000 prison assessment, plus other costs
  • Potential probation and community service
  • Installation of ignition interlock device for 12 months ($1000 yearly cost)
  • Alcohol screening, treatment, and education

Aggravated DUI:

An aggravated DUI is charged if any aggravating factors apply, such as driving with a child under the age of 15 in the car. To see a full list of aggravating factors, please click here.

  • Prison sentence, months to years
  • One year driver’s license suspension
  • Felony charge on record
  • Mandatory alcohol or drug screening, treatment, or education from an approved facility
  • Minimum $750 fine, $250 assessment fee, $1500 prison fund fee, $1500 public safety fee

Have You Been Charged with a DUI in Arizona?

No matter which type of DUI you are charged with in Arizona, your penalties are going to be severe. However, with the help of an experienced JacksonWhite DUI lawyer, anyone who is arrested for a DUI in AZ can see their penalties and fines decreased.

Not only can we assist you in minimizing your DUI expenses and punishments, we can also work to avoid incarceration. Call us today at (480) 467-4370 to schedule a FREE and private consultation with dedicated JacksonWhite DUI defense attorney, Jeremy Geigle.

 

Ready For A Fresh Start? Fill Out The Form Below