A person can be accused of burglary in the third degree if they:
- Enter or remain unlawfully in/on a nonresidential structure, or in a fenced commercial or residential yard with the intent to commit any theft or felony crime, or
- Enter into a motor vehicle using a manipulation key or master key, with the intent to commit any theft or felony in the motor vehicle.
ARS 13-1506 states that third degree burglary is a class 4 felony offense in the state of Arizona. If convicted of a class 4 felony, a first time offender can receive 2.5 years in prison as part of their sentence. An individual with a criminal record or prior convictions can sometimes receive a prison sentence that is longer than 2.5 years, depending on the circumstances involved in their case. In any event, it is critical for both first time offenders and those with prior criminal records to consult with a burglary defense attorney if they have been arrested or charged with any type of burglary crime in Arizona. Contact the law firm of JacksonWhite immediately to schedule your free and confidential consultation. Call 480-818-9943.