Domestic violence offenders can also face limitations in the future, long after the conclusion of their case. A criminal record for domestic violence sometimes causes problems for a person when they try to pursue education and job opportunities. In addition, offenders will generally face restrictions when it comes to contacting the victim or returning to the location of the crime, even if it’s a home or workplace. Domestic violence offenses may also affect child visitation rights.
Archive for April, 2012
1. Contact an attorney right away. The sooner you get in contact with an attorney, the more time the attorney will have to review any evidence the prosecution might have against you. Furthermore, an attorney with experience as a former prosecutor can provide you with insight about the possible consequences associated with your charges, and engage in negotiations to lessen their severity.
Generally speaking, any act that causes physical injury or death to another can be considered an act of domestic violence. Additionally, any act that involves intimidation or the use of abusive language to control the actions of another person can also be forms of domestic violence. In some cases, individuals accused of domestic violence may not fully understand the legalities of their charges and should consult with an attorney for assistance.
Domestic violence is a crime that can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances involved in the case. Individuals facing criminal charges for felony domestic violence in Arizona can face significant jail or prison time, and those accused of misdemeanor domestic violence can face large fines, probation, counseling requirements or short jail sentences if convicted. Under Arizona law, domestic violence is defined as the use of physical, emotional, psychological, sexual, or monetary abuse by a partner or family member in order to exert authority over another individual. Even if a violent act resulted in little to no injury, an offender can still be arrested and charged with domestic violence in Arizona.
While most criminal offenses carry punishments like government fines and imprisonment, there are other types of consequences that defendants can face if convicted. One possible consequence is for the judge to make a “restitution order” in which the offender is ordered to compensate the victim(s) for any monetary losses that resulted from the crime. In addition, a Judge is able to place an order requiring the defendant to forfeit any personal property used to commit the illegal act. Other possible repercussions of a criminal conviction can include issues with employment, education and personal relationships. Convictions can also cause issues in
When a person needs assistance with charges for a burglary offense in Arizona, they should look for a Phoenix burglary defense attorney with a track record of success. During the initial consultation, it is also important for a person to ask the attorney about their possible defense techniques for burglary crimes.
In Arizona, third degree burglary is classified as a class 4 felony offense and punishable by a sentence of 1.5 to 3 years in prison. ARS 13-1506 provides the following definition of third degree burglary offenses in Arizona:
Second degree burglary is considered a class 3 felony in Arizona. Under Arizona law, a class 3 felony is punishable by a term of 2.5 to 7 years in prison. ARS 13-1507 defines second degree burglary as the act of entering or remaining unlawfully in or on a residential structure with intentions to commit theft or any other type of felony crime. Charges for second degree burglary usually apply to a burglary crime that was committed in or on residential property, such as a home, condominium or apartment complex.
Call us now for a free consultation,
or have us call you by filling out the
form to the right. Our experienced criminal defense attorneys will call to help you with your case.